Interreg Sudoe - Programme Sudoe Interreg

About Interreg Sudoe

What is Interreg?

Interreg Sudoe Programme is part of the European territorial cooperation objective known as Interreg, which is financed by one of the European structural funds: the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF). The current programming period covers from 2014 to 2020. Its two previous programme generations were Sudoe 2000-2006 and Sudoe 2007-2013.

Interreg: Organizational chart

Interreg Sudoe Programme is one of the 15 2014-2020 programmes included within Interreg B, which promotes transnational cooperation. In addition, there are 60 programmes financed through Interreg A, which supports cross-border cooperation and 4 programmes financed by Interreg C, which funds interregional cooperation (+ information).


What is Interreg Sudoe?

The Interreg Sudoe Programme supports regional development in Southwestern Europe, financing transnational projects through the ERDF. The Programme promotes transnational cooperation to solve common problems in the covered territory, such as low investment in research and development, weak competitiveness of the small and medium-sized enterprises and exposure to climate change and environmental risks.

The European Commission approved the Interreg Sudoe Programme (abbreviation of Cooperation Programme Interreg V-B Southwest Europe) on the 18th of June 2015, with a total budget of 141 million euros. The full text of the Cooperation Programme is available in English, Spanish, French and Portuguese.

The Programme provides a citizens summary in order to give an overview on the latter.

Morevoer, the Programme provides a useful summary addressed to the potential beneficiaries

Eligible regions

The projects approved are based on partnerships of public and/or private partners from the regions covered by the Programme. The eligible regions are all the Spanish Autonomous Communities (except Canary Islands), the Southwestern regions of France (Auvergne, Nouvelle Aquitaine, Occitanie), all continental regions of Portugal, United Kingdom (Gibraltar) and the Principality of Andorra.

What will the projects deal with?

The projects approved focus on one of the Programme's five priority axis, identified as the areas on which transnational cooperation has strongest impact in the context of Southwester Europe:


  Research and innovation




  Competitiveness of SMEs



  Low-carbon economy



  Combating climate change



  Environment and resource efficiency