Close this search box.

What is Interreg?

European Territorial Cooperation, known as Interreg, is a financing instrument created under the framework of the European Cohesion Policy, with the aim of strengthening cooperation between Europe’s regions through project funding.

The Interreg programmes are funded by the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF) and can cover the policy priorities of the current 2021-2027 programming period:

Interreg is an essential instrument of the European Union that strengthens cooperation between regions and countries within the EU. It plays a vital role in promoting regional development, cohesion and reducing economic disparities.

Lines of Interreg cooperation

Cross-Border cooperation – Interreg A

Cross-border cooperation, known as Interreg A, supports cooperation between regions of at least two EU Member States located at or adjacent to borders.

In the current programming period, there are 73 cross-border cooperation programmes, focused on transforming border barriers into opportunities between the Member States of the European Union. For the current programming period, these programmes have a budget of €6.7 billion.

Two cross-border Interreg programmes are being implemented in the Sudoe geographical area: POCTEP (Spain-Portugal) and POCTEFA.

To find out more about the rest of the cross-border Interreg programmes, click here.

Transnational cooperation, known as Interreg B, brings together regions of different countries of the European Union forming large areas to promote better cooperation and regional development within the EU by facing common challenges

There are currently 14 transnational cooperation programmes, including the Interreg Sudoe programme. For the current programming period, these programmes share a budget of €2.3 million.

Two other transnational programmes adjacent to the Sudoe area are being implemented: the Interreg Atlantic programme to the west and the Interreg Euro-Med programme to the east.

You can find out more about the transnational Interreg programmes by clicking here.

Interregional cooperation, known as Interreg C, works on a pan-European scale, encompassing European Union member states and beyond. It creates networks to develop good practices and facilitate the exchange and transfer of experiences. Interreg C comprises 4 interregional cooperation programmes: Interreg C comprises 4 interregional cooperation programmes:

For the 2021-2027 programming period, these programmes have a budget of €5.5 million.

Outermost regions´cooperation, known as Interreg D, plays a key role in achieving the Commission’s goal of a “stronger Europe in the world”, namely in the Atlantic, the Caribbean Space, the Amazonia and the Indian Ocean.

The presence of cooperation with the outermost regions allows na effective cooperation with the above-mentioned geographical areas and the above-mentioned neighbouring territories.

For the current programming period, 5 programmes share an endowment of €280 million.

You can learn more about the programs in this section by clicking here.

European structural and investment funds

Interreg IPA:

The IPA (Instrument for Pre-Accession Assistance) programmes promote social, economic and territorial cohesion and support candidate countries for future EU membership through mutual learning and good living relationships. They have a budget of €1.2 million.

You can find more information about these programs by clicking here.

Interreg NEXT:

The Interreg NEXT programmes support economic and social development along the EU’s external borders, from the northern periphery to the Mediterranean and Atlantic region of the Black Sea Bay. They have a budget of €1.1 million.

You can find more information about the different Interreg NEXT programmes at this link.